Cricket World Cup 2019

Cricket World Cup And Its History

ICC Cricket World Cup is the One Day International Cricket or the ODI matches played Internationally. This event is organized by the Sports Governing Body, which takes place every four years by the International Cricket Council (ICC), leading to the final tournament with the initial qualification rounds.

The First World Cup was held in 1975, consists of 10 teams. The tournament has been held all over the world and won by teams from every corner of the world. It will be the twelfth tournament in 2019 and it has been played in the UK for the fifth time. Previously England and Wales have hosted the World Cup in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

The format for the tournament will be a single group of ten teams in which each team will play on the other nine teams, and the top four teams will advance in the knockout the semi-finals, and the final. With the entry of Ireland and Afghanistan in June 2017, in view of the increase of Test-playing nations from 10 to 12.

Host of the 2019 Cricket World Cup

The 2019 world cup will be held in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July 2019. The rights to host the world for 2011, 2015, and 2019 were provided simultaneously in 2006. Initially, England and Wales put together a joint bid for the 2015 World Cup. However, after Australia was eliminated from the combined Asian bid for the 2011 tournament, they were offered the right to host in 2015. England and Wales were guaranteed 2019 rights if they renounced their 2015 bid, which they did immediately.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket World Cup

  • First Held in: 1975
  • Held: Every four years
  • Teams participating: 12
  • Current Champions: Australia

ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most-watched sporting events in the world and the most prestigious award in international one-day cricket.

Cricket World Cup Teams Qualified 2019

Automatically Qualifier

  • England

ICC Tournament Current Qualifiers based on International rankings

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan

Cricket World Cup Venues 2019 Matches Overview

  • London: 9 June – IND vs AUS, 14 July – Finale
  • Leeds: 6 July – IND vs SL
  • Nottingham: 14 June – IND vs NZ
  • Bristol: 01 June – AFG vs AUS
  • Durham: 28 June – SL vs SA
  • Birmingham: 30 June – IND vs ENG
  • Southampton: 5 June – IND vs SA, 22 June – IND vs AFG
  • Cardiff: 04 June – SL vs AFG
  • Taunton: 12 June – AUS vs PAK
  • Manchester:16  June – IND vs PAK, 27 June – IND vs WI

2019 Cricket World Cup Group stage

All teams play each other in a full round-robin format,  There is a total of 45 matches that will be played, in which each team will play nine matches. The top four teams of the group will go ahead in the semi-finals and the winners contesting the CWC final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *